The Institutes – Our History

You are here

Our History

For more than 100 years, The Institutes have been the leading provider of professional education activities related to risk management and property-casualty insurance.

  • The Institutes' History: 
        1909 - The Insurance Institute of America (IIA) is formed.
        1942 - The Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter (CPCU(R)) designation is founded, and the American Institute for Property and Liability Underwriters is formed.
        1944 - The Society of Chartered Property and Casualty Underwriters, formally known as the CPCU Society, is organized.
        1953 - The American Institute for CPCU and Insurance Institute of America combine operations.
        1961 - The Harry J. Loman Foundation is formed by the CPCU Society.
        1977 - The Insurance Research Council (IRC) is founded.
        1992 - The American Institute for Property and Liability Underwriters becomes the American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters (AICPCU).
        1998 - The IRC becomes a division of IIA.
        2007 - IIA rolls out online learning for the first time.
        2008 - IIA debuts SMART Online Practice Exams for select courses.
        2009 - AICPCU and IIA are rebranded as The Institutes.
        2010 - The Institutes acquire
        2012 - The Institutes affiliate with the CPCU Society.
        2012 - The Institutes launch their own social media platform, The Institutes Community.
        2012 - The Institutes affiliate with The Griffith Insurance Education Foundation.
        2012 - The Institutes and their affiliates are selected to lead the industry-wide effort to engage the next generation of talent to seek careers in the industry.
        2013 - The Institutes develop 'MyPath. Insurance. It's Limitless.' as the collaborative website for educating millennials about an insurance career.
        2014 - The Institutes are named a Top Workplace by
        2014 - The Institutes' Enterprise Risk Management course is awarded a Business Insurance Innovation Award.